Bullet trains to operate on 7 routes, says Railway Ministry

by Team Deccan Express
0 comment

New Delhi : deccan express Team – According to the Railway Ministry, there is a possibility of a bullet train operating between Mumbai and Nagpur on the lines of the Mumbai-Ahmedabad bullet train project. The construction of the project will commence in 2024, the ministry said.


According to the railways, if there is no problem like the Maharashtra government and the Ahmedabad route, then the construction is likely to begin before the general elections in 2024. By February end, the DPR of the Nagpur-Mumbai bullet train project will be ready and 70 per cent of land is already available.


Only 30 per cent of the land will have to be acquired and the journey between Nagpur and Mumbai will be completed in a few hours. The journey which takes 12 hours at present, can be covered in 3.5 hours.


Land acquisition will not be required on the Nagpur-Igatpuri stretch and land will have to be acquired on the Mumbai-Igatpuri stretch. On this stretch, most of the route will be elevated. The speed of the bullet train will be 350 km per hour.


The Railway Ministry has decided to carry out a survey and prepare DPR of following routes. Delhi-Varanasi, Mumbai-Nagpur, Delhi-Ahmedabad, Mumbai-Hyderabad, Chennai-Bengaluru-Mysuru, Varanasi-Howrah and Delhi-Amritsar.


The work of the Mumbai-Ahmedabad project is progressing fast in Gujarat and most of the land acquisition in that state has been completed. Land acquisition is pending in Maharashtra.


The Railway Ministry has finalised following routes for the bullet train project.

1) Mumbai-Ahmedabad

2) Delhi-Noida-Agra-Lucknow-Varanasi (865 km)

3) Delhi-Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad (886 km)

4) Mumbai-Nashik-Nagpur (753 km)

5) Mumbai-Pune-Hyderabad (711 km)

6) Chennai-Bengaluru-Mysuru (435 km)

7) Delhi-Chandigarh-Ludhiana-Jalandhar-Amritsar (459 km)


Join our Telegramfacebook page and Twitter for every update

Related Posts